Turisas – Stand Up And Fight

The thunder of Scandinavia reigns once more and it is not the freezing moon glare of Norway nor the extreme efficiency of Sweden but rather, the battle cry of Finland in the form of warpaint clad warriors Turisas with their latest effort Stand Up And Fight (Century Media) Returning with more vigour in their swagger and combining the elements of traditional folk and metal music, the band has endured a rocky 2010 and this album is a testament to their craft

1. The March Of The Varangian Guard
2. Take The Day!
3. Hunting Pirates
4. Venetoi! – Prasinoi!
5. Stand Up And Fight
6. The Great Escape
7. Fear The Fear
8. End Of An Empire
9. The Bosphorus Freezes Over

Best known for their cover of Rasputin by Boney M and their warrior clad outfits, frontman Mathias ‘Warlord’ Nygård and his sextet have gone leaps and bounds since their debut and like the Finnish god of war himself (where they got the name Turisas from), Stand Up And Fight lives up to its name with lush orchestral arrangements complementing every single track and contrary to belief, the backing instruments does not serves as a contrast to the aggressive metal chords. Instead, it beefs up the firepower by pulling the strings in bringing the songs to life and dont be surprised if non-metal fans might like Stand Up And Fight as film score enthusiasts will find tracks such as Venetoi! – Prasinoi! a gem whereas the opener The March Of The Varangian Guard lays down the law with the song Stand Up And Fight delivering the rallying call that could bring the fallen back to life. The minor line up changes has not compromised the quality of Turisas and the addition of accordion player Netta Skog has stabilised the progress of the band. Best played with the volume turned up to 11, axes sharpened and eyes set for glory, Stand Up And Fight is not all about the usual vocal growls and dual guitar shreds but instead, a masterpiece created for those who love their headbanging and class in equal parts

Choice Cuts: Take The Day!, Venetoi! – Prasinoi!